Backpacking Teacher

Travel, teaching and things in between. Saigon is the focus for now.

“Go and ask the thawing land, go and ask the thawing river”

leave a comment »

The line from the poet Ai Qing grabbed me as it so clearly articulates the way I feel as I move further from Vietnam and towards the start of the Camino.

I saw the quote as part of speech given by Wen Jiabao, China’s Prime Minister, in an article discussing the release of Ai Qing’s son, Ai Weiwei, the Chinese activist. I can’t imagine a similar speech these days in the face of China’s current concern about a Jasmine revolution.

But it’s not revolution on my mind it’s this wonderful line of poetry that describes happiness as a gradual state that slowly comes to life. I’m certainly not unhappy, in fact I’m generally a happy person but I see how easily these two lines of poetry could apply to the idea of calmness. I can feel a calmness and peace spreading over me as the Camino draws near. I can feel my near empty batteries beginning to recharge. I may be on a plane, eating dodgy plane food, wishing the overly loud Chinese bloke behind me would shut up but I can most certainly feel the land & river thawing.

20110627-084524.jpg

Written by backpackingteacher

June 30, 2011 at 1:52 am

Posted in Camino de Santiago

Tagged with

Leave a Reply

