Backpacking Teacher

Travel, teaching and things in between. Saigon is the focus for now.

Another coffee and a plug for caminoguide.net

with 4 comments

20110627-022212.jpg

My favourite airport, a good, but horrendously priced coffee and some route planning. Cheeky and I are at Saigon’s small but efficient airport waiting on our flights. Why I chose to fly via Guanzhou i’m still not sure but hey, no real travel should be painless because if it is, it’s also storyless.
So here I am looking at our walk for the first couple of days. I’m using the camino guide which I used back in 2009. It’s succinct but filled with the info you need. I remember last time round it proved more useful and up to date than many others’ fancy guidebooks.
This version is just as succinct but gas been updated with new albergues. I’m using this and some route maps as my major planning docs. With them the first two days become clear. First day will be St Jean Pied de Port to Roncesvalles and day two onto Pamplona (if rooms are available in the busy city).
… and that’s it for planning… part of the Camino is about taking it as it comes so I’ve no desire to over plan or over prepare. Bring on the long walk.

Written by backpackingteacher

June 27, 2011 at 5:34 pm

Posted in Camino de Santiago

Tagged with

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Buena suerte compañero. From a former walker and fellow Sydney Business Studies teacher who is in Barcelona at the moment M & N

    M

    June 28, 2011 at 5:29 pm

  2. Hi, Mr. Mark!
    you seem to have fun holidays and I admire you for planning to walk 800km. 800 km!!!! I’ve never imagined one walking 800km before!! but then, I think it’s going to be a big challenge and now, I feel like I have to challenge myself during the holidays which I don’t really know what to do yet…
    I also realised that you started calling people with adjectives, hahahha ! hope you have nice holidays with your wife and remember than i’ll be tracking you on blog!

    Da Song,

    Da Song Choi

    June 29, 2011 at 10:48 pm

  3. Thanks Dasong… hope you enjoy reading about our journey. Have a good holiday.

    backpackingteacher

    June 30, 2011 at 1:55 am

  4. M&N … great to see your comment and good to hear you guys are back in Europe. I’m sure you’re loving Barcelona. I’ll try to email when I can.

    backpackingteacher

    June 30, 2011 at 1:56 am


Leave a Reply

