Backpacking Teacher

Travel, teaching and things in between. Saigon is the focus for now.

Paris: Charles de Gaul Airport by TGV to Biarritz

leave a comment »


Arrived at Paris CDG airport – what an airport, efficient, clean, bright and, dare I say friendly, the antithesis of Heathrow.

The TGV station is in the same terminal (2) as Vietnam airlines so a short walk, a quick line up and I’d collected my tickets to get to Biarritz. I’m planning to get off at Bayonne to catch a local train to my jumping off point.

I’m now on the TGV which is comfortable, and in which I hear a multitude of languages being spoken. As you can see from the photo below my seat companion doesn’t look the friendliest of fellows. Next stop Bayonne,



On the connecting TGV to Bayonne I spot the first indicator that I’m on the Camino de Santiago, a backpack sporting a shell. The shell is an indicator of a pilgrim on the journey to Santiago de Compostela.


I’ve had a lot of luck with connections. At Bayonne a few minutes saw me catching the connecting train to St Jean Pied de Port. And then … it hit me … sitting on my backpack on the floor as if I was in an old sub-continent rattler I looked up to see pilgrims, pilgrims and more pilgrims. I can see there ain’t gonna be much solitude on this trek.


— Posted from my phone

Written by backpackingteacher

June 30, 2009 at 7:08 pm

Leave a Reply

