Backpacking Teacher

Travel, teaching and things in between. Saigon is the focus for now.

The journey starts at Notre Dame Cathedral in Saigon

with one comment


I fly out later tonight and am now busily transferring money at the bank. Earlier this morning I played tennis with friends then headed off into town to meet a friend before going to the Dutch consulate to see if I could get my Dutch passport renewed.

We’d arranged to meet at the nearby Notre Dame cathedral, a Saigon landmark. I took the opportunity to go inside – it somehow seemed fitting that on this day that I headed off to do the Camino de Santiago. I parked my bike, circled the high red brick walls, wound my way round the rosary seller, dropped some money in the donation box then looked around. Once again I found myself enjoying the peace, the calm that pervades churches. Last night when I put my pack on reality began to set in but today I felt, in that brief visit to the cathedral, that my journey had begun.



— Posted from my phone

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Very nice content.

    Trekking in nepal

    June 29, 2009 at 8:01 pm


Leave a Reply

