Backpacking Teacher

Travel, teaching and things in between. Saigon is the focus for now.

In Saigon planning for a long walk across Spain – El Camino de Santiago de Compostela

with 3 comments


So here I am having a coffee and looking down on Saigon’s Le Loi street towards the Opera House. I’ve spent the morning looking for trekking gear. A smallish trekking shop in the backpacker district of Pham Ngu Lao got me a fleece, some shirts and trousers but the two key things I need, trekking socks and a lightweight sleeping bag, still elude me in Saigon.

In any case I’m not too concerned after all part of the el Camino Frances (the name if the particular route I’ll be taking) is overcoming challenges. I’m sure I’ll manage to pick up what I need in the jumping off town for the trek St. John Pied de Port.

Time for me to head off for lunches and dinners with departing friends. Did I mention school’s out and all the teachers are scattering in the wind across the globe. I love my job 🙂

I’m also using this post to check out a new iPhone app that will, hopefully, allow me to blog while I’m on the long walk.

— Posted from my phone

Written by backpackingteacher

June 28, 2009 at 1:58 am

Posted in Uncategorized

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Hello my backpacker friend,

    My name is Vitor, i´m backpacking from Brazil. Very nice your blog. Please, add my blog in Blogroll?

    Thanks, and good walkings!

    vitortrotamundo

    July 1, 2009 at 12:48 pm

  2. vitortrotamundo

    July 1, 2009 at 12:48 pm

  3. Good luck on you Camino trek. I will walk my first camino in September. Can’t wait.
    http://www.rita-underthemilkyway.blogspot.com

    Rita

    July 8, 2009 at 10:21 pm


Leave a Reply

