Backpacking Teacher

Travel, teaching and things in between. Saigon is the focus for now.

Saigon to Phnom Penh: Planning a weekend away

with 4 comments

Royal Palace - Phnom Penh (picture from wikitravel site)

Royal Palace - Phnom Penh (picture from wikitravel site)

Whew … the silly season of teaching is amongst us. The end of the year is always hectic. Assignments to mark, exams to write and mark, reports to muddle through, kids and teachers getting sick ….this time of year at schools is always a rush with eveything happenng at once, tempers fraying and in four weeks it’ll all end with a shout of joy at the last day of school and the start of the summer holidays.

To give myself a little breather in between I’m popping across to Phnom Penh for the weekend with some friends. I plan to do nothing so much as sit by the fabled riverside and relax with a cold beer. Well, sorta ….I’ve been reading up on wikitravel, the go to site for when you’re travelling somewhere, and there are a few things I’ll want to get to once I’m in PP.

The palace, a few of the key Khymer Rouge sites and the local market. That’ll be enough for one weekend. I fly out tonight and back in on Sunday evening …ready to be assailed by all the end of year arrows of outrageous fortune.  Whoo hoo … just a few hours to go …and I’ll be in PP … a city that everyone who’s been there raves about as being a fun little place for a weekend getaway.

Written by backpackingteacher

May 29, 2009 at 11:59 am

Posted in expat

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Hi there

    I came across your blog while looking for teacher for Spanish lesson in Saigon. Thank you for sharing your experiences of Saigon – you write about it so well, I’ve set up a blog to share with my friends back in Sydney my experience here but when I read your blog it’s like – wow this is good – I can just send them here instead.

    Anyway, if you know anyone who gives Spanish lesson please let me know. Thank you.

    Thao

    Thao

    May 29, 2009 at 2:07 pm

  2. Hi thao ..thanks for your kind words … glad you like the blog enough to recommend it to others 🙂
    I’ll have an ask around to see if there’s anyone who teaches spanish and let you know.

    backpackingteacher

    May 29, 2009 at 3:43 pm

  3. Hi Mark, Your weekend is sounding a bit more more exciting than mine( Wine tasting in the souther highlands). Always good to hear from you. We are just up to the Sports Carnival, followed by reports, reports, reports!
    Have a good weekend anyway! I’ll think of you while I sip some wines. Enjoy your beer( responsibly!) Cheers, Jen M

    Jenny Malouf ( Mum)

    June 1, 2009 at 8:30 am

  4. Hiya Jen …. beer was enjoyed responsibly … much fun was had in Phnom Penh … glad to hear i’m not the only one doing reports and our sports day (which was more like a monty python version of a sports day) is long gone … hope the w/end in the hunter was fun…

    backpackingteacher

    June 3, 2009 at 8:44 pm


Leave a Reply

