Backpacking Teacher

Travel, teaching and things in between. Saigon is the focus for now.

Dinner with a chocolatier

with 3 comments

 

I had the distinct pleasure of dining with a chocolatier tonight. I spent the night haphazardly picking at my food not quite tasting what I was eating as I sat enthralled. I was dining with a friend who was talking about her time in Paris and her love for chocolate. Her face came alive as her hands danced in the air, rolling imaginary melted chocolate until it reached the right temperature. Her hands brushed against her chin as she checked the temperature of her make believe chocolate. Her eyes recoiled in shock at remembering how Sofitel Metropole chefs in Hanoi microwaved their chocolate to melt it.

I had the rare pleasure of being absolutely entranced by the passion exuded by another. I could see her mind beginning to switch over from the English she was speaking to me to the French she was remembering in and within minutes French, Vietnamese and English all gave way to her joy for chocolat. While the rain teamed down around us I felt a world away. For a brief moment in hot, rainy, sweltering Saigon I felt like I was in Paris watching this passionate chocolatier at work.

Written by backpackingteacher

April 22, 2009 at 11:20 pm

Posted in food, saigon

Tagged with , , , ,

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. What a wonderful description! After that post,I feel like I could see (and eat) the chocolate that I love oh so much 🙂

    Rogena

    April 25, 2009 at 5:08 pm

  2. thanks rogena …. that dinner discussion certainly gave me a new insight into the art of chocolate making

    backpackingteacher

    April 25, 2009 at 5:34 pm

  3. […] all those touristy museum and culture sights that I have not yet got to and spend sometime with my chocolatier friend. Alternatively I’ve been thinking about getting on my bike and riding the two plus hours down to […]


Leave a Reply

