Backpacking Teacher

Travel, teaching and things in between. Saigon is the focus for now.

Haircuts for anime characters in Saigon

with 2 comments

naruto371-5

Everything in Saigon is an experience. My hair has been getting unruly again. I generally dislike the rigmarole that goes along with getting your haircut so I tend to get my haircut only when things are getting desperate, I’m talking Chewbacca desperate here.

So I resolve to do the deed. Jumping on my bike I head off to the nearby shops around plush Phu My Hung (pronounced "foo me hoong"). I’d been recommended to go to a place called Saigon Moments. A few minutes jetting around on my bike I find the place. I walk and smiles greet me, they can clearly see that Chewbacca is here for a haircut. I sit down to discover we have no language in common. A few words of English on their side and the ability to say thank you on mine do not make for an efficient delivering of instructions on how I want my hair cut. They show me a few books, but unless I want to look like a Japanese anime character those books aren’t helping the situation. Eventually I decide to just go for it … I give a shrug and let them do what they will.
15 minutes later I have a haircut, it’s short and I don’t look like a character from Naruto so I’m happy. But wait … that’s not it … I am taken out back to a dark room with a bed (is this why the place came recommended I think?)

I’m asked to lie down, next to me, and somewhat worryingly, lies another customer asleep in the foetal position on another bed. My head slips into a bowl and my hair begins to be washed. By that I mean it’s is kneaded and soaked and stroked and kneaded some more. I’m in a state of bliss … and then it’s over. I knew I should have opted for the massage when she first offered it to me …. then I too could be curled up in a foetal position in a state of bliss after a Saigon Moments head wash and massage. Next time I might not wait so long to get my haircut.

Written by backpackingteacher

February 1, 2009 at 5:00 pm

Posted in expat, saigon, school, teacher

Tagged with , , , , ,

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. You are CERTAINLY brave…you could’ve ended up like Naruto…but hey…hair grows…right??? LOL

    jyankee

    February 2, 2009 at 6:20 pm

  2. brave … nah … brave was when I once shaved my head almost bald and ended up looking like the mutant brother of uncle fester … now that was brave

    backpackingteacher

    February 2, 2009 at 7:46 pm


Leave a Reply

