Backpacking Teacher

Travel, teaching and things in between. Saigon is the focus for now.

HSC Results out today

with 2 comments

 

The HSC (the final secondary exams for the state of NSW in Australia) results came out today. As always I’m interested in how everybody in my class went. 

This particular class was very special to me as many of these students were in the very first class I ever taught as a teacher. Many of them I had taught for the last three years and got to know well.

In the end everyone did well. These are the highest results in Business Studies at the school for quite some time. A number of students receive results in the top band (band 6) and we were above state average for students in Business Studies in this band and the band just below (band 5). This is a credit to those students who worked well to get into those bands. To perform at those levels you not only have to be naturally able but you have to have worked well on a continuous basis.

As a teacher I’m always unsure of how much of a hand I’ve had in the success of these students. A good friend of mine once likened it to not standing in the way of their learning. So I take pride in not having stood in their way and, occasionally, have pointed out the path should they have momentarily lost their way.

I was very happy with how everyone in my class performed. That includes those students not in the top bands. Most often those are the forgotten students – well guys I know how hard you worked. Congratulations to you all. You made me proud.

 

Written by backpackingteacher

December 17, 2008 at 8:48 pm

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Hey, thanks for the comment. I hope your travels continue to go well and you find more than you expect. Good luck.

    queenfuckup

    December 18, 2008 at 2:19 am

  2. Nice Theme…I like it…

    safexsolutions

    December 21, 2008 at 4:06 am


Leave a Reply

