Backpacking Teacher

Travel, teaching and things in between. Saigon is the focus for now.

That’s it – School’s out

with 4 comments

schols out

I’m slightly hungover as I write this the day after our Christmas party. Yesterday was both an enjoyable party and a difficult time as I said goodbye to a lot of people whom I have come to care for deeply.

For the last few weeks I’ve been concentrating on all those things that you need to do at the end of the school year. Writing programmes for next year and finishing paperwork for this year. This gave me little time, or indeed inclination, to think about Vietnam. I would often get the question so how are you feeling about moving. The answer on my part was often that I wasn’t thinking about it much at all.

And then I began to say my farewells. This week I said farewell to my various classes, especially hard was saying farewell to my Business Studies class who have been a lot of fun to teach. Yesterday I said farewell to many fellow staff and friends at our end of year staff party. That was very hard but at the same time it made me appreciate how strong some of the friendships I made are.

And now .… as many farewells have been said and as my old school, pictured above, is no longer a reality but a memory, I can feel my excitement build. I cannot wait to be dropped into the maelstrom awaiting me in Saigon. There are times when I don’t know why I’m going to Vietnam – it seems so stupid to give up what I have. Right now though, I do, it’s because of what I feel now, this overwhelming feeling of uncertainty, fear, excitement – I have no idea of what awaits – life, for awhile, is going to be a big unknown. Will I succeed over there or come running home tail tucked between my legs?

I don’t know yet but I’m going to find out soon. I’m lovin’ this. Game on.

 

Written by backpackingteacher

December 13, 2008 at 10:34 am

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Good luck as you begin this new phase of your life. I have a feeling you are going to do just fine. There IS a reason you are going, you’ll discover the answer in due time.

    I look forward to following your exploits.

    Expatriate Games

    December 14, 2008 at 9:30 pm

  2. thanks for the support 🙂

    backpackingteacher

    December 15, 2008 at 7:17 am

  3. Game on indeed! You will be fabulous! I am excited for you.

    Great picture of the school!
    🙂

    Sarah

    December 18, 2008 at 4:02 pm

  4. go the oilers!

    backpackingteacher

    December 18, 2008 at 5:38 pm


Leave a Reply

