Backpacking Teacher

Travel, teaching and things in between. Saigon is the focus for now.

The joys of packing and moving overseas

with 10 comments

apt2 

I hate packing. Doesn’t everyone? This time round I’m having to do less packing for two reasons. The first is that I substantially decluttered earlier this year when I moved from my old house to my apartment and the second is because I’m renting the apartment out fully furnished. I still have some packing to do however and a fair bit more declutterring.

The thing is the more I declutter the more I like it. That’s not to say I’m a minimalist as my home is too strewn with keepsakes and the bric-a-brac of my travels for me to be considered minimalist. I’m not even particularly tidy. I am however enjoying not having mounds and mounds of unnecessary junk. No breadmakers, no bizarre mixing machines, less of everything and many less books (I gave away 16 boxes of books last time) overall I find myself happier the less my accoutrements. Back in the day I remember when I was happy with just a backpack of stuff. Whilst that would never suffice today I am enjoying throwing stuff away. It’s kinda cathartic.

Of course, standing in the way of all of this is of course my need to buy books, gadgets, magazines and strange little items I pick up whilst travelling. Let’s hope my apartment in Saigon isn’t too big because it’s clear to me that the bigger the place I live in the more inclined I am to fill it with stuff I really don’t need.

Written by backpackingteacher

December 2, 2008 at 4:01 pm

10 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Yes, there are fewer things more liberating than relenquishing possessions, especially if they give others joy when receiving such clutter. Good job and good luck!

    Reid

    December 3, 2008 at 4:14 am

  2. Thanks … I look forward to adding some Saigon clutter to make up for the clutter I’m getting rid of here 😉

    backpackingteacher

    December 3, 2008 at 5:16 am

  3. I envy you coz you get to move to such an exotic place called Saigon…it brings up images of exotic alleyways with little cafes and beautiful umbrellas on a rainy day.

    Jessie

    December 4, 2008 at 3:21 am

  4. I like the imagery of exotic alleyways and little cafes … I do look forward to enjoying my baguettes and coffee in Saigon 🙂

    backpackingteacher

    December 4, 2008 at 4:20 pm

  5. Hi, I just discovered your blog today, a nice read! Good luck as you begin this new adventure.

    I’ll try and get back later tonight to read through some more entries. Cheers from an English teacher in Liuzhou. China!

    Expatriate Games

    December 5, 2008 at 7:49 pm

  6. Thanks for that. Just had a look at your blog – http://expatriategames.wordpress.com/ your photography is amazing.

    backpackingteacher

    December 5, 2008 at 8:14 pm

  7. I’ve been lurking through a lot of blogs…though I never seem to comment.. you’re right. The more space…the more clutter! Good luck with the move!

    jyankee

    December 5, 2008 at 8:50 pm

  8. Thanks for taking the time to drop a line … like you I lurk a lot on various blogs (including yours http://jyankee.wordpress.com/ )

    backpackingteacher

    December 6, 2008 at 6:22 am

  9. Hehe, I love to pack. Always have. Thanks for the link, I added a link to here also: livinginsaigonvietnam.blogspot.com

    hcmcfred

    December 15, 2008 at 7:52 pm

  10. no worries ….. those english language kid’s classes of yours look like a handful

    backpackingteacher

    December 15, 2008 at 8:06 pm


Leave a Reply

