Backpacking Teacher

Travel, teaching and things in between. Saigon is the focus for now.

Saigon to Vung Tau by scooter.

with 8 comments

on the road to Vung Tau 015

This morning I rode through sunshine, through traffic, through fields of ducks and then I rode through a monsoonal rainstorm. Now I sit here in Vung Tau sipping a coffee while I look at the waves from the South China Sea crashing against the busy Vung Tau "back beach".

on the road to Vung Tau 003
I headed out of Saigon mid-morning. My copy North Face backpack neatly packed and nestled between my knees in my bike’s luggage rack. I may have looked like your Nanna riding a nanna bike but I felt like an easyrider. My journey out of Saigon was heralded by flowing flags and banners. Alternating symbols, first a star then a hammer & sickle on identical blood red backgrounds. Yesterday was the anniversary of the liberation of Saigon and today was May 1st – no doubt the real reason for the banners. I chose to look upon them as my very own honour guard of communist symbolism as I rode down to the beaches of Vung Tau.

on the road to Vung Tau 012 on the road to Vung Tau 013
The ride out of Saigon was relatively uneventful and I chose to put on some 90’s rock tunes on my iPod as I rode out. Turning onto the road to Vung Tau (highway 51a) I stopped to buy a baguette and iced-green tea. The smiling Chi (older woman but not too old) who in retrospect I think I should have called a Ba (a woman a fair bit, maybe mother’s age old) consented, smilingly, to me taking a photo of her and her streetside, freshly baked Banh Mi.

 

A few miles further just beyond Bein Hoa I found myself visiting Dairy World. Or at least that’s what I think it was with it’s massive cow statues, and mentions of Bo Sua (Beef/Cow milk). I rode in through Dairy world, stopped off to buy a drink and some freshly baked little doughy things stamped with the decidedly English word “egg”. Quiet delicious and a nice little break on my journey.

on the road to Vung Tau 025
From there I zoomed off. In my earphones the 4 Non-Blondes sang to me and asked me "what’s going on now" as, on the sidelines, a panorama opened up. To my left misty covered mountains, to my right fields of white ducks, rice paddies and buffalos standing sentry duty on the banks of sodden, muddy coloured rice paddies.
My trusty Yamaha purred between my thighs, my iPod picked another great tune, the wind kept me cool, the rush of air over the handlebars and onto my face kept me smiling. I found myself singing out loud as I enjoyed the visceral rush of riding and the screensaver scenery around me. I don’t know what my fellow riders on the road thought but I was having a ball riding and singing.

on the road to Vung Tau 030
And then the clouds rolled in. The air began to thicken and the small pockets of blue left in the sky began to close up. As one the traffic around me began to speed up as if our combined horsepower alone could keep the rain at bay. ’twas not to be and the first drops started breaking. I pulled over to a nearby stall and bought a poncho. Pulling it on my head the baby blue poncho did much to enhance my easyrider cool. Off I rode into the storm the tunes still playing and me still singing.

on the road to Vung Tau 033
Within minutes the wind began to pickup and soon the rain was falling hard, fast and needle sharp. I slowed my bike to a crawl and still the rain hurtled into my face at breakneck speed like kamikaze pilots eager to inflict damage. Just prior to my face turning into steak tartare I pulled over to a garage and waited with 50 or so fellow riders. After 20 minutes or so the rain seemed to ease and I, knowing Vung Tau was still 50km’s away was keen to get on with it. I rode back into the needles and rode and rode and rode. When the rain eased I sped up and when it came thundering down I slowed to a crawl but I kept going. My smile slowly turned to a grimace but through it all I was finding a perverse joy. Here I was riding a bike through the rice paddies and buffalos of Vietnam while doing battle with the monsoon, how could I not be enjoying this.

On I rode and eventually I arrived at the outskirts of Vung Tau. My poncho had not served it’s purpose, ripped up by the wind, rain had soaked through and then, just to make sure I really was wet the gods had sent truckers and fellow bikers to ride through massive wake producing puddles just as I was riding past them. On four separate occasions I was engulfed by a wave of water taller than me and my bike. You’d think my sense of humour was being tested ;-)

on the road to Vung Tau 059
In Vung Tau I drove through the rain, saw a likely hotel with great views of the ocean and likely to have room service, hot coffee and hot water. So here I am at Sammy hotel drinking my ca phe sua nong while the hot water runs in my bath. I’ll go out again when the rains die down. What a long, wet, enjoyable ride that was.

Written by backpackingteacher

May 3, 2009 at 2:55 pm

8 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Sounds like a great adventure…I’d like it too!

    jyankee

    May 3, 2009 at 9:39 pm

  2. Hi Mark,
    Do you mean to tell me you are riding without a full face helmet! Shame on you!

    Hope you atleast had sunglasses on! Term 2 in full swing, here.
    best wishes for now.
    Jen M

    Jenny Malouf ( Mum)

    May 4, 2009 at 3:04 pm

  3. ‘fraid so … open helmet it was ..but I did have the sunnies on ….enjoy Term 2 … here we’re into the last hectic 8 weeks of the year with, as usual, a thousand and one things to do..

    backpackingteacher

    May 5, 2009 at 2:20 pm

  4. jyankee … it was indeed a fine adventure … certainly not a big adventure … more like a sample adventure but fun nonetheless

    backpackingteacher

    May 5, 2009 at 2:21 pm

  5. Hi Mark. As I am new to riding further than the outskirts of Saigon, I am planning a road trip to Vung Tau for Sunday the 24th of May and have no idea as to the route to take. Could you please help me?

    John

    May 21, 2009 at 3:20 pm

  6. Hi Mark. As I am new to riding further than the outskirts of Saigon, I am planning a road trip to Vung Tau for Sunday the 24th of May and have no idea as to the route to take. Could you please help me?
    I had recently taken a trip to Phan Thiet but went with friends who knew the way and would never find the same route again on my own.

    John

    May 21, 2009 at 3:23 pm

  7. It’s actually quite easy. Head across the Saigon river towards An Phu … then continue on that road through An Phu as it becomes Xa Lo Ha Noi … follow this road, with it’s many trucks and buses until you get to Bien Hoa … at this point you will see very clear signage telling you to turn right towards Vung Tau … turn right and this road will take you right into the middle of Vung Tau … You’ll be fine … it’s all quite clearly sign posted and if you’re unsure just stop and ask and you’ll easily get redirected.

    backpackingteacher

    May 22, 2009 at 12:11 am

  8. Thanks Mark

    John

    May 22, 2009 at 3:43 am


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

